art

Sign Up For Salsa, Make a Mosaic!

 

Mosaic-500pix

Carole Jean’s first mosaic

 

 

 

 

Reason or season? You know that expression: People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.

Although I was baffled at first, I can now appreciate the sequence of events that recently occurred concerning my caregiver, my significant other. We had a blissful few weeks and, you know me, I was planning the wedding!

Fortunately, I am no longer allowed to do that without the approval of my sister-friends. And, honestly, I was NOT going to do it before we had one year together. Really. I’m learning. Sort of.

Post surgery, when my energy level got back to normal, I started making plans for all kinds of fun activities for us to do as a couple. I bought tickets to Santa Cruz Shakespeare, the Symphony, and signed us up for beginning salsa lessons. You know I don’t need beginning salsa lessons! I know I can’t teach my significant other to dance – it doesn’t work, I have tried. So Capitola Recreation, here we come. 

I had scheduled us for the Monday evening class which was to start three weeks hence. I dusted off my dance shoes, and then it hit me. What is he going to wear on his feet? Certainly not his clunky work boots. Or his non-slip boat shoes. Flip-flops? Nah.

The problem solved itself. I said something. He heard something else. He stomped off. I ran after him. He came back. I explained. He calmed down. I went away. When I returned he had cleared out. Huh?

So was he there for a reason? Or was I there for his reason? It was certainly less than a season. It wasn’t anybody’s fault and nobody is angry. It was certainly a fun whirlwind of a time which we both enjoyed and then it was over. 

But, what about the salsa lessons?

Capitola Recreation at Jade Street thought they had heard it all…until they met me. The nice lady behind the registration window smiled and offered me a refund with a service charge. Hmmmm, “If I choose another class will there be a service charge?” I asked.

“No, you get the full amount.” she replied.

I thumbed through the catalog of classes and there it was! Broken plate mosaic. Yes! I wanted to break some plates! Perfect.

And I still have a six dollar credit after the exchange. I wonder if they offer grape-stomping as a class?!

Well, whether it was for a reason or a short season, I’ll never know. But I do have a lovely mosaic that makes me smile – as well as the fun time I had for a short season.

Oh, and I got to meet Nancy Howells of Painted Chair Studio. She is a talented, patient teacher and artist. Self-taught, she has expanded her skills on many levels and her pieces on display are unique and fabulous! You can view her website here:

http://www.paintedchairstudio.com/

Whether you want to take a class, buy a piece, or just browse Nancy will welcome you! I did and am glad I did. Now that I am a self-declared expert, I am ready to make mosaic stepping stones. Who knows where they could lead?!

 

CJNancy-500pix

Carole Jean and artist Nancy Howells

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Sign Up For Salsa, Make a Mosaic!

  1. Can’t wait to hear the full story

    On Sun, Jun 25, 2017 at 2:33 PM Carole Jean’s Capers wrote:

    > CaroleJean’sCapers@wordpress.com posted: ” Reason or season? You > know that expression: People come into your life for a reason, a season or > a lifetime. Although I was baffled at first, I can now appreciate the > sequence of events that recently occurred con” >

    Like

  2. Yes, I among a couple of your sister friends that I met at your party – all agreed at the time, you should just enjoy the “season without reason” and then move on! Glad you had fun! No harm done! And you have a mosaic to show for it! And glad no major mistakes were made!🤣🤣🤣 Luv ya!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hopefully we are in each other’s life for a lifetime! You never cease to amaze and
    amuse. Good for you, you have a lovely mosaic and sounds like some good memories too! Hugs from CR, Mari

    Like

  4. Done fighting? When you’re ready, come on down and learn how to shoot… may as well get it all in before the fat lady sings!

    On Sun, Jun 25, 2017 at 3:33 PM, Carole Jean’s Capers wrote:

    > CaroleJean’sCapers@wordpress.com posted: ” Reason or season? You > know that expression: People come into your life for a reason, a season or > a lifetime. Although I was baffled at first, I can now appreciate the > sequence of events that recently occurred con” >

    Like

  5. You really are nuts and I love you for it Save a day for me in july to catch up you can show me how to salsa whatever that is

    Like

Leave a Reply

