Boxing

Operation Bunny Wrap-Up

boxing-500pix

Robert, CJ, Brian, and Charlie looking on

 

 

 

 

 

The birthday has come and gone. I have pictures to prove it.

Here’s the deal: I am going to write a boxer training summary, followed by an actual birthday blog, and then return to boxing. Yeah – it’s not over!

With the hard work, encouragement of these two magic-men and, of course, Charlie, the mascot, I met – no, exceeded -my goals! Everybody was on board and everybody at Santa Cruz Boxing in Scotts Valley, California helped me along. 

I came in a bloated, pudgy, soft sixty-nine-year-old and two months later I flew off to Las Vegas with a Playboy Bunny outfit in tow along with a few slinky gowns fit for the red carpet and the body to put in them. 

About a month and a half into the program, Brian, owner of Santa Cruz Boxing, said, “Hey CJ! Do you have your tickets?”

I smiled and said, “Yes! I have the tickets to Vegas!”

Brain sauntered off and quipped over his shoulder, “No, not Vegas…to the gun show! Check out your guns!” 

Oh my! I ran to the mirror, pumped both arms into the body-builder show-off position and Yaaassss! those biceps popped up and sat pretty!” Showtime!

The time had come to check out the actual results on Brian’s magic scale. It gives readings on more than just weight. There is the body fat reading, the BMI (body mass index), water levels and more. Mostly I was interested in the weight and body fat content.

We synced our phones with the proper apps and watched the monitor do its thing. Holy crap! It registered one hundred eighteen pounds. I hate to admit it, but I had ballooned to one hundred forty-four prior to starting “Operation Bunny.” So, if we do the math, that is a whopping TWENTY-SIX pounds in about two months! More importantly, my body fat level went from twenty-eight percent to a mere nineteen percent! And I had muscle definition including the sexy six-pack most women never get. How is this possible?

First requirement: PMA (positive mental attitude). Visualization and belief go along with that. I embraced the goal and treated it as though it were a done deal. You can trick your subconscious into believing and then it gives you what you want. Try it. For instance, if you say, I’m going to lose ten pounds, it will never happen because the subconscious mind will always make sure you have to lose ten pounds. If you lose it, the subconscious is out of a job and that can’t happen. If you tell it you weigh one twenty instead of one thirty, it will give it to you. I know it sounds simple, no impossible, but there you have it. It works for me!

Second requirement: Avoid, no SHUN, the naysayers. The best way to get me to do something is to tell me I CAN’T do it! I’m that transparent. Several people, no make that almost everybody, said I could not lose twenty-five pounds in two months. Those people didn’t know me.

Third requirement: Robert and Brian – trainers extraordinaire! Seriously, these guys are the BEST! Check them out here:

http://santacruzboxing.com/instructors.html

I have never had so much fun working so hard. Between Brian’s fist-bumps and Robert’s end of class hugs, I worked my heart out knowing at the end of class we would have a loving, respectful, and supportive finale. I would walk out the door full of confidence, ready to take on the day, and defy anybody to try to spoil my empowered state. They should know about my right cross which is way more powerful than my jab, and they should not mess with me.

Operation Bunny was a success. I did get to be a ring girl to make my statement for breast cancer survivors (most of you know I am a survivor of many years) and women of senior status in the age department; do not let your number define you, unless, of course, you want it to. Some people just get tired and want to be old so they can rest. Not me. It’s a choice thing. I choose to live life to the fullest and live by the famous Hunter S. Thompson quote:

Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, “Wow! What a ride!”

Although I did accomplish The Ring Girl goal, I’m not done with that yet. I will be contacting some big name boxers such as Floyd Mayweather to see if they will allow me to be the Ring Girl at one of their matches. My birthday gathering in Vegas shifted focus to the wonderful family and friends that came to my party suite at the Flamingo to celebrate my big 7-Oh! 

CJ1-500pix

CJ the Ring Girl

 

I still have eight months to get this done by year’s end. I will continue boxing at Santa Cruz Boxing as soon as I recover from surgery. Oh, yeah. My reconstruction had to be reconstructed. It is recommended to replace breast implants every ten years. For me, it had been twenty, so it was time. The operation went well and I am now recuperating and building strength for the next ten years. 

Meanwhile, I’m in the wings to be Ring Girl for Suzi Cash who is planning to box in a match at Kaijin MMA on Swift Street on the West Side of Santa Cruz. Sam, who runs the place, was kind enough to allow me time there as a ring girl. I felt right at home – salsa music was playing even though I had not requested it. It was perfect. Thank you, Kaijin! I’ll be back!

Who knows? Maybe I’ll get in the ring with Suzi. After all, I do have those pink boxing gloves. And bunny ears. 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Operation Bunny Wrap-Up

  1. Congratulations CJ !!! your body looks fabulous. I need some of your grit and determination. I need to get back into working out regularly. You are a shinning example of what a person can do when they decide they are going to accomplish a new goal.

    Like

  2. Pin up girl of the seventies does it again! Good for you addressing reconstruction surgery head on. That’s what I love about you. Full transparency indeed!

    Like

  3. Love the honesty girlfriend!!! I am guessing your weight loss was more than just boxing. You had to cut out/down on something! Regardless you look amazing and that party was bomb!!!

    Like

  4. Wow…good for you CJ you look fantastic! Well done.

    Micki, You must be very proud of CJ…..she gets her good genes from you! oxoxox

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. Good piece my dear… did you have a chance to read my book? Big hug, Paul

    On Tue, Apr 25, 2017 at 8:20 AM, Carole Jean’s Capers wrote:

    > CaroleJean’sCapers@wordpress.com posted: ” The birthday has > come and gone. I have pictures to prove it. Here’s the deal: I am going to > write a boxer training summary, followed by an actual birthday blog, and > then return to boxing. Yeah – it’s not over! ” >

    Like

  6. CJ, Check out Freddie Roach. He is a trainer of some great fighers. I think he has Parkinsons, but is still at it. I knew Jackie McCoy a great guy who trained many boxing champs, but sadly he left us.
    Jim, Costa Rica

    Like

  7. Just read your Blog,,loved every word! Hope you are feeling ok..and not too sore from your SURG. Thinking of you,💑 MISS YOU, DEANA ROSE🌹

    >

    Like

  8. Well, look at you beautiful BG2, amazing story, amazing human and I am not one bit
    surprised that you achieved all your goals. Rest, recuperate and get back out there so
    you can continue to inspire us all. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

