Animals / Costa Rica

Little book, Big Day!

Children's book

Toby to the Rescue!

Today I present my first children’s book, “Toby to the Rescue!” This isn’t really MY  book – it took a village. The collective energies of many are incorporated into the work, starting with the animal rescue people who found an abused, nearly dead puppy all the way to the generous printer in San Pedro, Costa Rica, who cut the cost to the bone and donated posters. Everybody gave from the goodness of their hearts to make this happen.

This tale is about what we all want: love and connection. It is a demonstration of one of the most fundamental principals of life; you get what you ask for, but first you must ask. The answer to your prayer may not come immediately and it may not come in the form you expect, but if you keep the faith, continue to see the positive side of every situation, good things happen. There are angels among us – and sometimes they are not pretty with silver wings.

My favorite line in the book is: “I love my dog, Toby, and Toby loves me,” (Amo a mi perro, Toby, y Toby me ama.) Oh yeah, it’s in English and Spanish. The idea is to bridge the gringo and tico communities in the education of the treatment of animals. Through the efforts of dedicated animal lovers, such as Animales Atenas, and SASY (Stop Animal Abuse, Yes!) out of Escazu, we are seeing huge improvements in the treatment of animals in Costa Rica.

Today at Casa Wegner, 4:00 p.m. is where it is happening. Come join us. If you can’t make it and want your copy of “Toby to the Rescue” let me know and I will reserve it. Sold only in Costa Rica (3,000 colones) or by special arrangement to the U.S. and Canada. Proceeds from the book will be donated to Animales Atenas.

A huge heartfelt thanks to all of you who helped make this happen! I thank you, and Toby thanks you! Socrates, the puppy whose life was saved, (read the book) says “Arf, arf!” (Guau, guau!) and Happy Holidays.

30 thoughts on “Little book, Big Day!

  1. Hi Carole,

    Put me down for one of the books. I have a little something that the lady who makes the treats made for my loyal customer’s doggies. I’d like to bring it by within the next few days. Maybe I can pick up the book then.

    Clara

    Like

  2. Hi Carole,

    Congratulations on your latest release! Please put me down for one of the books.

    I have a little something that the lady who makes the treats made for my loyal customer’s doggies. I’d like to bring it by within the next few days. Maybe I can pick up the book then.

    Clara

    Like

  3. Carole could you please reserve three copies for me. Let me know when I can pick them up! Carinos, and great effort. Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  4. You are off and running again Carole! You can’t be stopped and that’s good! Will the books be for sale at the Atenas Feria? I’m sorry that I wasn’t able to help you with the book illustration. Life has taken me on lots of twists and turns (some literally!)this year. I’m looking forward to a clean slate in 2015 and wishing you all the best for the new year!

    Like

    • Dear Geraldine, Thank you, as always for your support! This is just a small (12 page) illustrated children’s book. I don’t think it’s appropriate for Kindle -thought about it, but! Next one will be!! “Flying High with Carole Jean”. I’m selling this locally as a fundraiser for the abused animal people.I will mail a few to friends in the U.S. (via a “mule”) who expressed interest. Thanks for commenting!!.

      Like

      • Keep me posted on your next book too Carole, I’d be happy to read and review it on Amazon too! 🙂

        ALL THE BEST for 2015, it’s going to be a great year, I just know it!!! Hugs, G

        Like

    • Geraldine, I understand about “Kindle Only”. This book is geared for young ones and hands on. I thought about it, and decided it was not a good fit. Next book will be – “Flying High with Carole Jean” about my days as and International Stewardess in the 70s. Working on it! Thanks so much.

      Like

  5. Lovely story and yes, many animals are our angles and our keepers in so many ways. We claim to rescue them, but truth be told, they rescue us. Max, my beautiful Yellow Lab escaped from being left for days on end when he lived with my ex-husband. Since his exile, he now shares my bedroom with my Siamese prison cat during the evening, and spends many hours of his day cheering elderly people at Alzheimer’s facilities. God bless all our angels!

    Like

  6. Carole, I read your wonderful book about my friend (your Love), Toby, and Tico, at your home the other evening. You write equally as well for our “little ones” as you do for us “big folks,” and never cease to amaze me! Your being You is liberating to a lot of us, so keep it up and DON’T EVER “Curb Your Enthusiasm!” Save me (2) copies. C U Soon.

    Like

  7. I love your book Carole. I am helping a Tico with his english. Today I used your book during my lesson. I had him read the english version and he was able to check his knowledge by looking at the spanish version as the same time. Then I read the english version to him, showing him where he could improve. The biggest reason I enjoyed reading with my Tico friend is that I tried to show him how a dog “wagged his tail hard”. I should have let my Chloe, Golden Retriever, do this part. I looked silly trying to wag an imaginary tail.
    Hugs to you Carole, Mary

    Like

  8. Hey Carol, am i able to get one of those books? Teaching myself and daughter Spanish and this book being bilingual would be great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

