Travel

Chased by an Iguana

Chased by an Iguana

I took his picture. He cocked his head and looked at me expectantly. What? We have iguanas at home in Costa Rica. They mostly live in trees. They don’t beg for food. They don’t strut around posing for photos. They leave us alone and eat bananas. This iguana clearly looked like he expected something from me. Payment for taking his picture? Apparently so. As I turned to walk away, I felt an energy building behind me. I looked over my shoulder and sure enough – he was running after me! I have witnesses.

People on the beach shifted in their lounge chairs. They abandoned their books for the entertainment on the sand.

I mean really! I out-sized him/her (who can tell?) by like, a hundred times. Why should I be running? Well, I wasn’t prepared to slay the Jabberwocky at this moment. I had no magic sword, no machete, not even my pink pepper-spray. This was silly. People took out their cell phones and took videos. I’m surprised it hasn’t gone viral: “Angry iguana chases bikini-clad baby boomer at Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands.” I was running out of beach, and I realized I had a whole bay in which to escape. I belly-flopped into the water, kicked out a ways, then looked to the shore and, sure enough – there was the iguana sauntering off to antagonize another unsuspecting tourist.

11 thoughts on “Chased by an Iguana

  1. OMG! That’s hysterical ! Glad nothing happened How scary! Good thing you went into the water!

    sista xo

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

