Uncategorized

Please!

 

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.
Abraham Lincoln

A variation of the original quote is “please”. You can’t please all the people all the time. Boy, am I learning!

I am a beginning writer, a wanna-be writer, an untrained writer, a “by-the-seat-of-my-pants” writer, a novice blogger. I’m learning fast! I thought I needed a thick skin to be a realtor, but that was nothing compared to this.

A while back, I went to a book-signing of world famous author, Isabelle Allende. She is a feisty, diminutive woman with a strong voice. She said: “I have something to say and I’m going to say it my way! Half my family isn’t speaking to me, but I tell the story as I see it!” This is what I remember her saying at the gathering at Capitola Book Café a few years ago. It may not be accurate word-for-word, but that is the gist of it.

Me, too. I’m gonna tell the story as I see it, or saw it. Memory plays tricks.

I now understand the disclaimers authors include in their work. I am flattered to be at the point where I actually need a disclaimer. Whoo hoo! Thanks for reading.

Please do let me know if I write something you don’t agree with, something that offends you, something I wrote that is inaccurate. It only helps me grow. I’m ready. Bring it on!

I know some of you anxiously await more of “Rats and Robbers”. It’s coming.

Again, thanks for reading!

Names will be changed to protect the innocent!

9 thoughts on “Please!

  1. One of my favorite quotes is by Terri Cole-Whitaker.”What you think of me is none of my business.”
    You have a gift and if some do not appreciate it they have a choice, they are not obligated to read the material. Stay the course you will learn as you go and refine the skill that you already posess!!

    Like

  2. Carole,

    I am not always in the US when I read your prose…..it’s fun to know there are so many of us becoming more and more acquainted with you at the same time, wherever we are…….please keep up the great work…..and yes, I am waiting for the next installment of ‘Rats and Robbers’, as we all are. Do not be so hard on yourself at least you have picked up the ‘pen’ and given us an adventure.

    More power to you.

    Anne

    Date: Mon, 19 Aug 2013 19:42:31 +0000 To: annepryan@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

